Driver License Division - Adult
Every resident of Utah who drives a motor vehicle must have a valid Utah driver license, learner permit or temporary driving permit.
Persons become residents and will need to obtain a driver license if they:
- Enter the state with the intention of making Utah their home.
- Are gainfully employed in Utah (does not apply if you are on temporary assignment in the State.)
- Remain in the state for an aggregate period of six months or more during any calendar year.
Nonresidents licensed by another state may drive in Utah if:
- They are at least 16 years old.
- They will be visiting Utah for no more than a total of 6 months. After that time, they must apply for a Utah driver license.
|I have lost my Utah Driver License and need a duplicate||I am new to Utah and need a Driver License|
When renewing/applying for a Utah driver license, your privilege to drive cannot be suspended, revoked, disqualified, or denied in another state. Your out-of-state driver license must be surrendered upon application for a Utah license.
NOTE: Under Utah law, the individual driver is responsible to refrain from driving if there is any uncertainty about his/her physical mental or emotional status which may affect driving safety. If the condition persists, he/she is responsible for reporting it to the Driver License Division.[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:36 MST]