Utah Department of Public Safety

Driver License Division - DPC Fingerprint Agencies

During the 2011 legislative session, SB138 Driver License Qualification Amendments was passed into law.  Beginning July 1, 2011 all Driving Privilege Card (DPC) holders are required to submit a completed applicant fingerprint card and photograph upon renewal, duplicate or original application to the Driver License Division.

Prior to visiting the Driver License office, you will be required to obtain the completed fingerprint card and photograph from one of the below agencies:

  • Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI)
    Schedule an Appointment
    3888 West 5400 South
    Taylorsville, Utah 84129
    (801) 965-4445
    Monday - Thursday (8:00 am - 5:00 pm)
  • USU Police Department
    250 North 800 East
    Logan, UT 84322
    www.dps.usu.edu
    Fingerprints and Photos by appointment only
  • Sanpete County Sheriff Office
    1500 South Highway 89
    Manti, UT 84642
    (435) 835-2191
    Fingerprints and Photos only taken on Tuesday from 12:00 noon to 4:00 pm.
    http://www.sanpetesheriff.org/files/fingerprint.pdf
  • Springdale/Zion Canyon DPS
    118 Lion Blvd
    Springdale, UT 84767
    (435) 772-3434
    Fingerprints and Photos Monday and Wednesday (9:00 am - 12:00 Noon)
    Services for Washington County Residents Only
  • Iron County Sherriff
    2132 North Main Street
    Cedar City, UT 84721
    (435) 867-7500
    Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday (9:00 am - 12:00 pm)
    Fee is $20.00 and is by Appointment Only
  • Roosevelt Police Department
    255 South State 36-B
    Roosevelt, UT 84066
    Point of Contact: Chief Rick Harrison
    (435) 722-2330
    By Appointment Only
    Fee is $20.00

Upon the renewal, duplicate or original application of the Driving Privilege Card, the Driver License Division will collect and verify the fingerprint card, photograph, and identity documents, social security card (SSN) or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN), proof of Utah residency, appropriate licensing fees and a $25.00 fingerprint process and storage fee.  Once approved, submission of the fingerprint card and photograph will only be required one time.  Please be aware that any document appearing to be tampered with will be rejected.

Upon completion of the licensing process, the fingerprint card will be submitted to the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification where they will be checked against the applicable state and regional criminal records databases; and notify the Federal Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agency of the United States Department of Homeland Security if the person has a felony in the person’s criminal history record; or the law enforcement agency that is directed to execute a warrant of arrest if an outstanding warrant of arrest has been issued against the person.

The Bureau of Criminal Identification will maintain the fingerprint card and notify the Federal Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agency of the United States Department of Homeland Security if a new entry is made in the applicable state and regional database if the person is involved in an arrest under state law involving a felony; or the law enforcement agency that is directed to execute a warrant of arrest if an outstanding warrant of arrest is issued against the person.

[Last Update - Monday, 02-Dec-2013 07:34:00 MST]