Driver License Division - Frequently Asked Questions
- What Forms of ID do I need if I lost my license?
- What do I need for a first time driver license?
- Do I have to have a Utah ID to obtain a Utah license?
- How early can I renew my driver license?
- Can I get an adult license prior to my 21st birthday?
- May my child drive in your state on an out-of-state learner's permit?
- How long do I have to switch my license from another state?
- I've lost my out-of-state license, now what?
- Can I get a Utah license if my driving status in another state is "not valid"?
- If I am under 18 and need a duplicate driver license, does my parent need to sign?
- How long will it take to get my new driver license in the mail?
- What if I have changed my name?
- What if I am going to be out of state when my Utah driver license expires?
- Is it true I don't need to take a driver education class if I am over 19?
To replace a lost Utah driver license you must appear at a driver license office and present original or copies certified by the issuing agency showing evidence of identity, legal/lawful presence, full social security number or ITIN, two proofs of Utah residence if it is different than the address on your current Utah record, and evidence of name change, if applicable. This applies to duplicate, renewal, and lapsed licenses.
To apply for a first time Utah driver license you must be at least 16 years of age, have held a Utah learner permit for 6 months if under 18 years old, furnish proof of a prior driver license or proof of driver education training if under 19 years of age, two proofs of Utah resident, proof of full social security number or ITIN, identity document, and present a form of legal/lawful presence.
If the applicant has changed names, a certified marriage or court document is also required.
A U.S. military issued driver license is accepted with the same requirements as a license issued by a foreign country; in addition to all other licensing requirements, the applicant must pass eye, written, and driving test.
No; you do not need to have a Utah ID to obtain a Utah driver license. In fact a law passed July 1, 2012 that you may not have both a Utah driving certificate and a Utah ID card. You will be required to surrender one or the other if applying for an ID card or driving certificate after July 1, 2012.
You may renew your driver license up to 6 months prior to the expiration date in any of our 26 driver license offices.
No; our system will not allow us to issue an adult license until the individual has reached their 21st birthday, even if your 21st birthday falls on a weekend or holiday.
Our family will be traveling through Utah from another state. May my child drive in your state on an out-of-state learner's permit?
Yes; however, your child must be at least 16 years of age and must adhere to the restrictions placed on their permit issued by your state.
Utah law does not have a grace period in which to change an out-of-state driver license to a Utah license. It simply requires a resident to have a valid Utah driver license, when driving in Utah. A person is considered a Utah resident if the person establishes a domicile here, remains here longer than six months, engages in other than seasonal employment; or obtains Utah privileges not ordinarily afforded nonresidents, such as obtaining a driver license, vehicle registration, or placing children in a Utah school etc.
Resident does not include temporary employment, military or religious assignments; or out-of-state students (paying out-of-state tuition.)
To apply in Utah for a license without your out-of-state license, you must present original or copies certified by the issuing agency showing evidence of identity, legal/lawful presence, full social security number or ITIN, two proofs of Utah residence, and evidence of name change, if applicable. The Utah Driver License Division must be able to verify your current driver license. (We will contact your prior state to verify a "valid" driving status. This check takes a minimum of 24 hours.) You will then have to pass an eye test and written test. If your out-of-state license has lapsed, you may also be required to pass the driving test.
No; you must first clear the license action(s) with the other state(s) before you can apply in Utah.
No; once your parent has signed for financial responsibility they will not need to sign again.
When you apply for your driver license in one of our driver license offices, you will receive a temporary permit on the same day. The hard copy will be mailed to your residence in 3 - 6 weeks.
If you have recently married or divorced, you will need to provide the identity document that changes your name (certified marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court documents) as well as your current Utah driver license, birth certificate, social security card, and 2 proofs of residence if your address is different than what is on your current driver license. If your license does not expire within 6 months you will be applying for a duplicate driver license and the fee is $18.00. If your license does expire within the next 6 months you will be applying for a renewal and the cost is $25.00.
What if I am going to be out of state when my Utah driver license expires, for example temporarily assigned to work out of state, attending school out of state or serving a church mission?
If your Utah driver license will expire while you are temporarily out of state, you can apply to renew your Utah driver license more than six months prior to the expiration date if you provide proof that you will be absent from the state during the six-month period prior to the expiration date of the license. You will also need to provide documents required for the renewal process (refer to the documentation needed page on these requirements.)
If you are the age of 19 and over, you do not need to take a driver education course to obtain your Utah driver license. However, without proof of a previous license or driver education, you will be required to pass a written test, carry a learner permit for 90 days, complete 40 hours of driving and pass a driving skills test.
[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:31 MST]