Driver License Division - ID Card
You are not required to obtain a Utah State Identification Card. However, they are useful in the event you are unable to obtain a driver license, you need to cash a check, traveling, and for law enforcement purposes.
Anyone of any age can obtain an ID card. Although, persons under 16 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian sign for them. To apply for an Identification Card in Utah, you will need to:
- Appear at a driver license office;
- Complete an ID Card application (you can fill out and print the application ahead of time online and bring with you, or you can schedule an appointment for your visit to avoid waiting in line at the office);
- Photo will be taken;
- Must provide proof of birth, full social security number and residence. Visit our Documentation Needed page to find out what is acceptable proof; and
- Submit the nonrefundable fee of $18.00
After all requirements for an ID Card have been successfully completed you will receive a temporary photo ID on the same day. The completed ID Card will then be mailed to you in approximately three weeks and will be valid for 5 years.
If your current ID card was issued after January 1, 2010 you are eligible to renew your valid regular identification card one time through the mail or internet. Eligible applicants will be sent a letter to notify them of their eligibility and the process to complete in order to renew.
Effective July 1, 2012 you cannot carry both a Utah driver license and a Utah Identification card.
If you are no longer able to drive due to medical reasons or age, you may surrender your Utah Driver License for a Utah State Identification Card free of charge. You must appear in person at a licensing office to take a photo and sign the ID card application.[Last Update - Monday, 21-Jul-2014 14:23:58 MDT]