Driver License Division - New Law Changes
Effective July 1, 2012 a person who is 19 years of age or older and who has not completed an approved course in driver education can apply for a Utah learner permit that must be obtained for three months before applying for an original class D license. Click here for more information.
Effective July 1, 2012 an individual who is ignition interlock restricted shall have their driving privilege suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle and paid a reinstatement fee to the Driver License Division. If the ignition interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the ignition interlock restriction period, the driver license will be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is installed and an additional reinstatement fee is paid.
Ignition interlock system providers and installers will be certified by the Driver License Division and will be required to submit electronic notice of installation and removal of an ignition interlock device in a vehicle to the Driver License Division.
A vehicle shall be impounded if the driver of the vehicle is suspended, revoked, or denied for refusal to submit to a chemical test, DUI, automobile homicide, driving with a metabolite of a drug in the body, impaired driving, or an alcohol restricted driver violation.
An individual who fails to yield to an emergency vehicle shall attend a four-hour live classroom course in driving safety. The course must be approved by the court in which the individual appeared, or offered through the Utah Safety Council or affiliate. If the course is not completed within 90 days of sentencing, the driver license will be suspended for a 90-day period.
Effective May 8, 2012 a temporary license certificate and a temporary limited-term license certificate shall be recognized and have the same rights and privileges as a regular license certificate or a limited-term certificate.
Effective July 1, 2012 a Utah license certificate holder or identification card holder may provide the division with information for two (2) individuals who may be contacted by law enforcement in the event of a motor vehicle accident or other emergency situation if the certificate holder is unable to communicate with the contact person(s). The license holder may provide this information to the division by visiting any Utah Driver License office or through the internet at www.driverlicense.utah.gov after July 1.
Effective July 1, 2012 a civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense or State Department working outside of the United States may continue to use their Utah driver license up to 90 days after the assignment has been terminated or changed. The dependent of a civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense or State Department living outside of the United States may continue to use their Utah driver license up to 90 days after the assignment has been terminated or changed. Please contact the Utah Driver License Division to obtain additional information.
Effective July 1, 2012 an individual may not have both a Utah driving certificate and a Utah ID card. This law will be phased in over the next five (5) years depending on the applicant's birth date and the expiration date of their current certificate. However, if an applicant currently has both a Utah driver license and an ID card and applies for either a Utah driving certificate or an ID card on or after July 1, 2012, they will be required to surrender either their Utah license certificate or their ID card.
[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:36 MST]