Driver License Division - Tips for Parents on your Minor Driver
Your son/daughter may obtain a Learner Permit at the age of 15. They will need to apply for a learner permit at one of our driver licensing offices. Click here for more information on how to obtain a learner permit.
Before they can apply for their Utah Driver License, they will need to have:
- Held a learner permit for a minimum of 6 months,
- Complete a driver education course - either through their high school or a commerical driving school;
- Pass a road test;
- Complete 40 hours of driving with parent or legal guardian, 10 of which are after dark; and
- Be the age of 16
If your child is over 18, they are not required to hold a learner permit for 6 months before applying for a Utah driver license.
Currently we have some laws in place that restrict your minor --
If your minor is younger than 17, they cannot drive in Utah between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am except for in emergencies.
If your minor is 16 or 17, they may not drive with any passenger who is not an immediate family member until six (6) months from the date the license was issued. So this means they cannot drive with friends for the first six months.
Your minor cannot operate a motorcycle until they have tested and received a motorcycle endorsement.
Remember seat belts are required and texting while driving is against the law.
Click here for more information on Youthful Driver Restrictions.[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:36 MST]