Utah Department of Public Safety

Emergency Management - Predisaster Mitigation Program (PDM)

Predisaster Mitigation Program (PDM)

The Predisaster Mitigation Program (PDM) allows local governments to receive technical and financial assistance to perform cost - effective pre - disaster natural hazard mitigation activities. The primary focus of the PDM program for the next two years will be natural hazard mitigation planning.

Mitigation planning is part of a comprehensive mitigation strategy designed to meet the guidelines set by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, in order to keep Utah in contention for both pre and post disaster federal assistance. This plan will determine areas vulnerable to natural disasters and determine ways to reduce or eliminate injuries, loss of life, and property damage within these areas. Federal agencies such as the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are attempting to break the cycle of disaster, disaster recovery, yet another disaster, through this mitigation planning initiative.

The State of Utah received federal funding from FEMA to aid in the mitigation planning process through a Predisaster Mitigation Grant. Funding from this one time grant was used to contract with the Associations of Government, to assist in meeting the standards set in DMA 2000. This planning process, unlike previous planning, requires a significant amount of public involvement and buy in from local officials. All entities wishing to remain in contention for pre and post disaster federal assistance must participate in the planning process and promulgate the completed plan.

Q&A About PDM

What is Hazard Mitigation Planning?

Hazard mitigation planning, is a process that identifies hazards, assesses vulnerability and then develops strategies and objectives to eliminate and/or minimize the effects of these hazards.

How does the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) play a role in this?

The HMGP provides funds to implement and enable mitigation projects identified in a hazard mitigation plan after a major disaster declaration during the immediate recovery from a disaster.

Why do we have to create a new hazard mitigation plan?

New legislation, the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000), amended the Robert T. Stafford Act. DMA 2000 establishes a new approach/requirement for mitigation planning. This approach emphasizes close coordination between State and local governments during the hazard mitigation planning and implementation process. DMA 2000 also ties federal disaster assistance to State and local hazard mitigation plans.

Is it necessary for our community to participate?

States are required to have an approved hazard mitigation plan in order to qualify for future funding through the post - disaster Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) and the Pre - Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Program. As a part of the State hazard mitigation planning process, local communities are encouraged to develop and implement local hazard mitigation plans with local strategies and objectives. With an approved local hazard mitigation plan, communities will be eligible for hazard mitigation plannning and project grants. Approved local mitigation plans will also qualify local communities to receive federal disaster assistance following a Presidential Disaster Declaration.

Does this program only include natural hazards?

Under DMA 2002 guidance, an approved hazard mitigation plan is not required to reflect man - made or technological hazards. However, FEMA recommends that they be incorporated into the plan so that the plan is comprehensive.

Why were the seven Associations of Governments (AOGs) chosen to prepare regional hazard mitigation plans?

The seven Utah AOGs, as a sub - grantee to DES, have been contracted to coordinate, develop and write regional hazard mitigation plans. These regional hazard mitigation plans reflect the planning guidelines included in DMA 2000. Governmental agencies, professional associations, and the Utah League of Cities and Towns, have endorsed utilizing the AOGs in this process. The use of the AOGs and this regional approach to hazard mitigation planning is intended to ensure coordination with elected officials, emergency managers, planners, public works, and information technology specialists.

Who will review the plan and make sure it meets the DMA requirements?

DES will review the seven regional hazard mitigation plans. DES will then "roll" the regional plans into a State Hazard Mitigation Plan. The State Hazard Mitigation Plan must then be submitted to FEMA for final review and approval.

How often will the plan have to be updated?

The State Hazard Mitigation Plan, which reflects the regioanl/local hazard mitigation plans, will need to be reviewed every five years. Hazard mitigation plans need to be reviewed and reevaluted following an emergency or disaster.

How can I find out more?

You can visit the FEMA Website, or contact Brad Bartholomew at (801) 538-3769 or bbart@utah.gov or LaNiece Dustman of the Wasatch Front Regional Council at 363-4250, or ldustman@wfrc.org.

[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:54 MST]