Utah Department of Public Safety

Safety Inspections - Frequently Asked Questions

Oversize & Overweight Restrictions

Equipment Issues

Oversize & Overweight Restrictions

Top
What are Utah’s legal limitations regarding vehicle width, height, length, and load extensions?

Utah law and Utah Regulations for Legal & Permitted Vehicles impose the following restrictions on vehicle width, height, length, and load extensions:

  • A vehicle with or without a load may not exceed a width of 8 ½ feet.
  • A vehicle with or without a load may not exceed a height of 14 feet.
  • A single-unit vehicle, with or without a load, may not exceed a length of 45 feet, including the front and read bumpers.
  • Special rules regarding vehicle length apply to semi tractors and trailers. Please consult the statute for these limitations.
  • All other combinations of vehicles, with or without a load, (such as a motor home pulling a boat) may not exceed a total length of 65 feet.
  • A vehicle or combination of vehicles may not carry any load extending more than three feet beyond the front of the vehicle body or more than six feet beyond the rear of the bed or body of the vehicle.
  • A passenger vehicle may not carry any load extending beyond the line of the fenders on the left side of the vehicle, nor extending more than six inches beyond the line of the fenders on the right side of the vehicle.

Any exception to the above provisions must be authorized by a permit issued by the Utah Department of Transportation.

 

Top
How can a commercial vehicle driver obtain an oversize or overweight permit in Utah?

The issuance of oversize and overweight permits is handled by the Utah Department of Transportation, Ports of Entry. You can obtain all the information you need on this topic by visiting the Ports of Entry web site.

Equipment Issues

Top
Can I have tinting on the windows of my vehicle?

Utah Law permits the use of window tint on vehicles registered here in Utah. The limitations are as follows. All windshields are prohibited from having window tint, or other non-transparent material placed below the AS-1 line or 4 inches down from the top of the windshield, whichever is lower. The driver and front seat passenger side windows must not allow less than 43 percent light transmittance. All other windows behind the front seat have no minimum light transmittance requirements. Although, if the windows behind the driver’s seat are tinted, the vehicle must have both the outside rear-view mirrors on the left and right side of the vehicle. Any window tint that is present on any vehicle must not be treated with a material, which presents a metallic or mirrored appearance when viewed from the outside of the vehicle. According to Federal Law, commercial vehicles are prohibited from having any window tint. If you have additional questions on this subject, please contact the Safety Inspection Section at (801) 965-4889.

 

Top
Can I legally alter the height of my pickup truck with a lift kit or oversized tires?

Vehicles with a wheel base in excess of 100 inches may be lifted 4 inches with mechanical lifts and 4 inches with oversize tires. Vehicles with a wheel base of 100 inches or less may be lifted 2 inches with a mechanical lift and 2 inches with oversize tires. A body lift may not exceed 2 inches and is considered a mechanical lift. If oversize tires extend beyond the fender, they must be covered with a flexible fender extender. Flexible fender extenders may not be wider than 3 inches. If you have further questions on this subject, please contact the Safety Inspection Section at (801) 965-4889.

 

Top
Can I have any cracks or stars in my windshield and still have it pass safety inspection?

Windshield cracks at any length may be present anywhere within the six inch border that surrounds the outside edge of a windshield. This border measurement is taken on the outside of the glass from the edge where the glass and the molding meet. The area of the windshield that falls on the inside of this border is known as the acute area. Any crack that extends into the acute area by more than one inch will not pass a safety inspection. Also, any damage or repairs in this acute area that exceeds one inch in length or diameter will also not pass a safety inspection. If you have additional questions on this subject, please contact the Safety Inspection Section at (801) 965-4889.

 

Top
Can I use studded snow tires on my car?

Utah law permits the use of studded snow tires between October 15th and March 31st.

 

Top
Do I have to have a front license plate on my vehicle?  There isn’t a place to mount one.

Utah law requires that every vehicle registered in Utah, other than a motorcycle, trailer, or semitrailer, must have a license plate securely attached to the front and rear of the vehicle. Federal standards require that every vehicle manufactured for sale in the United States must have the capability of mounting a license plate on the front and rear of the vehicle. If you contact the vehicle dealer, they can obtain the necessary kit for mounting a front license plate.

 

Top
I want to install some "after-market equipment" on my vehicle, but I’m not sure whether it is legal or not.  Who can I check with?

Whenever you have concerns regarding the legality of anything having to do with modifications to a vehicle registered in Utah, you may contact the Safety Inspection Section at (801) 965-4889 for assistance.

[Last Update - Friday, 08-Mar-2013 16:25:30 MST]