Driver License Division Recognized by Governor Herbert

DPS' Driver License Division received a 2017 Governor's Award for Excellence for outstanding public service.

Pictured from L to R: Deputy Commissioner Nanette Rolfe; Quality and Process Improvement Director Amy Lightfoot; DLD Manager Todd Holbrook; DLD Director Chris Caras; Governor Herbert; DLD Managers Jake Moosman, Jackie Barber, Jeremy Bergener, Mo Ostler and Kevin Neilson.


In a ceremony on Monday, DPS’ Driver License Division received a Governor’s Award for Excellence for Outstanding Public Service. The division was recognized for its increased efficiency resulting in reduced customer wait times.

The Governor’s Award for Excellence provides an opportunity for state employees to be recognized for outstanding public service and achievements that display dedication to the citizens of Utah.

Commissioner Squires wrote the following in his nomination:

“Shortly after 2010, the Driver License Division set an internal goal to bring customer wait times below 20 minutes. through education, training and additional on-line services, the division quickly met and exceeded this goal. However, the division felt they could do even better. So, in an effort to further reduce customer wait times, the Governor’s SUCCESS framework was deployed. With officer modifications, workflow enhancements and customer trends analysis, the division began to realize the impact their changes had on customers.

Prior to implementing recent changes, the division assisted approximately 53,000 customer per month. Since that time, the average number of customers served each month has increased by over 8,000 with an average wait time of 3 to 8 minutes.”

We are proud of our Driver License Division employees and their dedication to serving Utahns.


If you found this news entry interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.